Happy Birthday to Andy

photo-3-1

The chocolate cake
That I love to make
With peanut butter frosting,
And my vegan lasagna
That’s inside out
Would all seem quite exhausting
To some regular person who is not you
And lucky for me that you’re one of the few
Who likes what I cook,
Even if it’s just guck,
And the proverbial fat that we chew.

So I miss you on your birthday
And every other day
That you’re not here and I’m not there
But in my heart you stay,
Sitting at the kitchen counter
While I invent some new weird dish.
That such sweet fun would never end
Is what for me I’d wish.
And for you I wish the best of the best
To enjoy the good fortune
With which you’ve been blessed
And to stay happy and sweet
And free from strife
With a cute orange cat
And the most wonderful wife.

Love,
Mom

Leave a comment

Filed under Poems

Leave a Reply

